Frozen Birthday Party Prep: Marshmallow/Troll Bowling and an Ugly Pinata

I went to place the balloon order a couple of days ago. I had intended to also buy the pinata while I was there because Party City is a 20 minute drive one way and it’s hard getting out of the house with a newborn, a toddler, and a pre-schooler. But Laurelyn was fussing which made me panic and I was so focused on placing the balloon order and getting out of there that I completely forgot about the pinata. The idea of trekking out in the snow with all three kids was so awful to me that I decided it would be less stressful to just make my own pinata. Plus I would save money doing it myself. How hard could it possibly be to carve a snowflake shape out of cardboard?

The answer: it’s really hard. I spent about 40 minutes trying to draw the shape out on paper, with zero success. But before throwing in the towel completely I tried cutting it out on cardboard. The result was just plain ugly:

wpid-20141113_174852.jpgEowyn, God bless her, insisted that it was a beautiful snowflake. But let’s be real here–it’s a hot mess. I promptly threw that mess out and called Party City to see if they even had Frozen pinatas in stock. They have 9, so I’m going to head over there this weekend and gladly hack up the $20 for a ready made one.

Tyler–you were totally right. It wasn’t worth it. See? I can totally admit when I’m wrong.

With there being so much to do, I couldn’t let the day go by without getting at least one thing accomplished. So even though it was 7:30 at night, I banged out a game of my own invention: ‘Marshmallow/Troll Bowling’.

For those of you who haven’t seen Frozen a gagillion times, ‘Marshmallow’ is the name that Olaf bestows on Elsa’s evil snowman. I saw this Frozen inspired Olaf/Troll bowling game on Pinterest, but wanted to use a character other than Olaf. Don’t get me wrong–Olaf’s awesome. But he’s cropping up in a lot of my decor/food ideas and it’s not an Olaf party; it’s a Frozen party. Since it’s a bowling game, I thought it would be better to have a villain on the pins and that’s when I remembered Marshmallow.

Instead of using tissue boxes to create the body of the character like in the inspiration post, I opted for a more traditional bowling pin look and used cleaned out chocolate milk containers from Happy Meals (yes, my kids eat McDonald’s from time to time; get over it). I took my handy-dandy Sharpie to them, and voila! Marshmallow bowling pins.

wpid-20141113_194229.jpg

He proved to be more difficult to draw than Olaf, so none of them are perfect. The one pictured above is hands down the best one; there’s a few that even Eowyn said looked bad. I’m doing my best guys!

To make the Troll bowling ball, I took one of the girls’ play balls and put it inside a brown lunch bag. Then I taped it so it formed to the ball, and used a paper towel to dab green paint on top to look like the rock trolls from the movie.

wpid-20141113_195202.jpg

The only thing I had to buy for this was the paper bags, which I got a 100 pack of at Walmart for a few bucks. You can’t beat the price, and I know the kids will love it!

wpid-20141113_195358.jpg

8 comments

  1. It sure looks like the party is going to be a lot of fun…. you will probably be exhausted but what else is new…it is a good thing that Tyler is such a good help and He is always there with you…

    1. I’ll be fine; I really enjoy doing these things. Tyler’s great: he watched the 2 older crazies when I went to Party City the first time around. And he’s actually very good at put decorations up 🙂

  2. “Yes, my kids eat McDonald’s from time to time; get over it” – lol I love you.

    You are the most creative. Like, I’m going to have to ban my kids from going to your kid’s parties forever or else they will be like, “Mom, Ary’s mom makes all kinds of cool stuff for her parties and all you do is get me matching plates from Ralph’s!”

Leave a Reply

