My Eggo is Prego: 36 Weeks

image

36 Weeks

As you can see from this week’s picture, this week started off with the girls and I baking. Although the fungal infection is still growing out of my nails, the new nail is healthy, so I decided to give into my sugar cravings a bit. Beautiful fall weather just begs to be accompanied by the smell of homemade soup and baked goods. I’m still cutting back on sugar in my every day diet (like in my coffee, my oatmeal, and snacks), but I just can’t live a life that doesn’t involve baking. And I’m not talking about the healthy substitute-sugar-with-friggin-unsweetned-applesauce kind of baking. It makes me sad just thinking of it. Sorry if this makes me a horrible person, but I’m just going to come out and say it–a sugar free lifestyle is just not how I want to live my life. At least I’m honest. But I do want to continue to be more conscious of cutting sugar out of every day things that it doesn’t need to be in (Like in canned stewed tomatoes and canned kidney beans. Seriously had no idea they threw sugar in those things. And for what purpose?? Now I’m going to have to start stewing my own tomatoes… Because I totally have time for that…)

Anyways, the girls and I decided to try out this recipe for chocolate chip oatmeal pumpkin cookies that I found on Pinterest. So. Good. If you try it out for yourself, be warned–this recipe makes 5 dozen cookies! Mind you, they were on the smaller side, but that’s still a lot of cookies.

image

As you can also see from this week’s bump picture, we bought pumpkins. I know that it’s ridiculously early to be buying pumpkins, but they had them at the grocery store for $5 and the girls were so excited that I just couldn’t say no. I let them paint and glitterfy them, which was ungodly messy, but a lot of fun.

image

image

image

I think they’re a lovely addition to our front porch 🙂

We also made autumn tree pictures using real leaves and pine cones that we collected from our own yard. The girls had so much fun searching for leaves and making their trees.

image

It was also a welcome keep-the-kids busy craft because I was sick with a cold. Eowyn had it first, and then Ary and I came down with it once she was getting over it, and then it was Tyler’s turn once Ary and I were perking up. It’s so miserable when a sickness runs it’s course through the household and knocks us down one after the other. It got in my chest a bit and aggravated my asthma, sending me to the ER one morning to get a breathing treatment to help open everything up. I have a nebulizer (the machine used to give breathing treatments), but the medicine for it had expired back in 2010 because I don’t use it often at all. I’m totally fine; just needed more than my rescue inhaler. They sent me home with a fresh prescription for nebulizer medicine, so I’m set in case I need it again.

I started feeling better just in time to get a Rapunzel dress cupcake cake done for a birthday party that we went to on Sunday. I’ll share more about that next week since technically the party was on the start of my 37th week.

P. S. Did I mention that I am now officially 9 months pregnant? This one has seriously flown by! Tyler and I have decided to make this Thursday our “get our life together” day and finally clean the infant car seat and find the mystery bin of newborn clothes. Not that we’re worried that the baby is going to come tomorrow or something; our babies are notoriously late. More like we’re worried that we’ll procrastinate the next 3 weeks away and have to bring the baby home in hospital clothes and a car seat with old puffs stuck to the fabric and be forced to co-sleep because the bassinet is still sitting in the box in the basement.

At least the baby will be coming into the world at it’s finest hour. The fall colors are just breathtaking! I love that this is the way the world will be introduced to our little one:

image

image

Henderson is not in a head down position yet, so there’s still a lot of gymnastics going on. Here’s a YouTube video to creep you out.

http://youtu.be/EKcez9SXjko

I wish I could have recorded Tyler’s reaction while watching this video, because it was priceless. He was genuinely disturbed and I was laughing so hard that I almost peed myself! But if I have to live through it, then he’s got to watch it.

He is the absolute best though–he surprised me with Little Debbie Fall Party Cakes. Along with my coffee aversion, my craving for these cakes are the only consistent factors between all 3 pregnancies. I felt absolutely no guilt digging into those!

Baby Stats:

-Baby is almost 6 pounds and a bit over 18 1/2 inches long (about the length of a head of romaine lettuce)

-Henderson Adipose is gaining about an ounce a day at this point

-With all the fat accumulation, baby is shedding most of the downy hair that had covered him/her

Leave a Reply

