My Eggo is Prego: 34 Weeks

34 Weeks

34 Weeks

This week went by really fast for me.

It kicked off with a new season of dance class for Eowyn. This kid LOVES dance. It’s actually how we potty trained her; she wanted to take dance class but they wouldn’t take her until she was potty trained. So we hung up a princess tutu in the bathroom and told her that she had to go a whole month with no accidents before she could wear it and take classes. It took her 10 weeks, but she did it! This was her on her first day of dance, March 23, 2013:

 

In her princess tutu that she worked so hard for

In her princess tutu that she worked so hard for

This was her first day of dance class picture from this last Monday:

wpid-download_20140908_190658.jpeg

How do they change so much in just a year and a half??? I know every parent says this, but it seriously goes by so fast.

To celebrate the start of a new season, and to help her break the ice with her new dance friends (none of the girls from her last class are in this one), I decided to make ballerina cake pops for all of them (click the link for the detailed post of the process of making them). The girls were so happy, and Eowyn said, “Thanks Mom for making my dance class so special!” Like I said–it goes by in the blink of an eye. So I try to savor every single moment and celebrate as often as I can, because I know that soon I will blink and she’ll be all grown up and leaving me.

It is officially Fall here in Wisconsin, and I am loving it! It’s been nothing but mid 50’s since Wednesday. I can’t wait for the leaves to start changing colors. Fall is my absolute favorite time of year! When we woke up to a cold house Thursday morning, I was so happy that I made the girls pumpkin spice pancakes for breakfast (in the shape of pumpkins, of course). Remember–celebrate the little things.

wpid-20140911_104728.jpg

This is a link to my favorite pancake recipe. To make them into a Fall edition, I simply swapped brown sugar for the white sugar, added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, and held the blueberries. Oh, and I always add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Of course, I couldn’t have any because I’m still avoiding sugar, but the kids loved them. Eowyn ate 5! She must be growing again.

I also made a Fall inspired wreath. I originally set out to make this wreath that I saw on pinterest, but ended up doing my own thing (naturally). I’m really happy with the result! The best part–I bought all of the supplies at the Dollar Store, so this project cost a total of $6.

wpid-20140912_095706.jpg

 

I also hung up a decor piece that Eowyn picked out at the Dollar Store:

Our garage door in our mud room, which we use way more often than the front door

Our garage door in our mud room, which we use way more often than the front door

I’m telling you guys–the Dollar Store has some awesome finds!

Eowyn was totally into all of the home decor stuff. She wanted to buy everything, claiming, “This would look so nice in the house!” I’ll have to set her up with her own Pinterest account soon at the rate she’s going.

We also decked out our mantle:

wpid-20140914_094259.jpg

The girls and I also did some apple printing. Eowyn only used the apple 3 times before digging in with her bare hands, and Ary used the apple to spread the paint around the paper instead of making apple prints. And of course, they started painting themselves… But they had fun, and that’s all that matters.

wpid-20140910_204303.jpg

wpid-20140910_204338.jpg

Our apple printing art

Our apple printing art

Since the temperatures went down so quickly, the girls needed warm pajamas and long sleeved shirts. You would think that since we have two girls who were both born in the Fall months that Ary would never need any clothes, because she could just have all of Eowyn’s hand-me-downs. But since the very beginning, she has made it her mission in life to stand out in defiance of only ever getting her sister’s stuff, and has been set on growing at a different rate than Eowyn. Her whole life it’s always been a gamble as to whether or not Eowyn’s old stuff would work, because more often than not, the seasons don’t match up. So it was on Thursday when I was riffling through the 24 month bin–chuck full of summer wear. Besides, Ary seems to be stuck at the 18 months size for the time being, so even if the 24 month stuff had been fall/winter clothes, it probably would have all been too big for her to wear right now. But the kids needed some warmer clothes, so I took them to Target on Friday morning and $200 later, they each have 4 sets of warm pajamas and 5 long sleeved shirts. Thank God they both already have pants that still fit. I know what I’m going to tell people to get them for their birthdays–WINTER CLOTHES! This is getting expensive now that we have to multiply it by 2. Don’t know what we’re going to do if Henderson is a boy; poor thing will only have girl clothes at his disposal… But thank you God for always providing what we need when we need it.

My nail infection seems to be doing much better. I finished the bottle of oregano pills and don’t need to take any more, thank God. The stuff was starting to seep through my pores; my sweat smelled like oregano! Gross. But not as gross as having a fungal nail infection. Luckily my nails are growing fast, so hopefully it’ll clear up by the time Henderson is here and we’re taking a bunch of pictures of me holding him/her.

This baby isn’t as active as Ary was, but he/ she kicks downwards a lot, which is quite uncomfortable. The girls both did that from time to time, but this kid does it all day, every day. The doctors had to break my water both times before, but I wouldn’t be surprised if this one ruptured it all on it’s own at the rate it’s going.

One of my neighbor friends had her baby on Thursday, and we got to meet her yesterday. You forget how small newborns are! I came home and instantly started thinking about all of the things we still need to do/find in the next 5 weeks to prepare for our baby. I have no idea if the infant car seat is clean; no clue as to the whereabouts of my Baby Bjorn or milk storage containers or bottles; no idea where to put the baby swing or my rocker; and the bassinet is still sitting disassembled in a box. And there’s still the main floor toilet that needs to be fixed (because you know, a newborn needs an operational toilet in order to come home). Nesting makes you panic about every little thing that’s wrong with your house. At least we have an operational baby monitor again, thanks to my best friend Maleia. (Ary decided to wash our old one in the dog’s water. It lasted for about 8 months after that until it finally stopped working). Despite my crazy prego mind wanting to panic and organize and prepare everything, I know that if the baby came tomorrow that everyone would survive. All a baby really needs is a lot of love. And food; lots of food.

 

Baby Stats:

-Baby is about 4 3/4 pounds and almost 18 inches, about the size of a cantaloupe

-The fat layers are continuing to fill out (which is good because Baby it’s cold outside!)

-Baby’s skin is the smoothest it’s been

-The central nervous system and lungs are continuing to mature

 

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

