My Eggo is Prego: 33 Weeks

wpid-20140831_192401-1.jpg

33 Weeks

I actually have 2 prego pictures this week, because the girls wanted to be in it with me. Here’s the group shot:

wpid-20140831_192425.jpg

They are so excited about the new baby, and it is just too cute.

Labor Day was spent almost entirely outside, as the girls were playing with their friend next door. They ran through the sprinklers for a good 30 minutes; had water gun fights; played on the play set; fought monsters in the bushes; and of course, had a picnic.

wpid-20140901_141658.jpg

wpid-20140901_145654.jpg

Good times all around.

Then it rained for three days straight so we were all stuck inside. But once the sun came out again, we were back outside every day playing with the neighbors. I have had such a great time getting to know our neighbors this summer. Especially since our oldest kids are all the same age. They’re already thick as thieves : ) This is the kind of childhood that I wanted for my kids to have. I am so grateful to have the life that I have.

As much as I hate to admit that all of the uber healthy people are right, I have to admit they are right about the sugar thing. I’ve felt a boost in energy this last week, and I have to attribute it to the major decrease of sugar in my diet because Lord knows I’m not getting extra sleep. Since I’m still getting used to the taste of my coffee with just unsweetened almond milk, my caffeine consumption has been cut down to a quarter of what it was previously. Yet, I have more energy than I did before. Less contractions too, although that might just be a coincidence. Although I do miss my sweet treats, I realize now that they really need to be exactly that–a treat. As in occasionally had, instead of consumed on a daily basis. Mind you, I wasn’t eating candy everyday before. I think a lot of the sugar was coming from juice, granola bars, and cereal. But now that I’m more aware of just how much sugar is in those things and how much it impacts my body, I’m definitely going to be more conscious of how much I intake once this infection clears. I’m also going to start weaning the girls off of those things too so that we can all be healthier.

When the girls and I went to get Eowyn new dance shoes the other day, we ran into her dance teacher who was sporting a tiny little prego bump. She’s a very slender person, so I was 99.9% sure that the bump was a baby and not food, and I took the risk and asked the question: “Are you pregnant?” She looked at me like I was crazy because it was the most obvious thing to her, “Oh yeah! I’m 20 weeks; halfway there. I feel huge.” She looked like she had an apple under her shirt! I couldn’t believe that she was already 20 weeks! I also couldn’t believe that she had the guts to complain about how huge she felt to the 33 weeks pregnant woman. I see your apple and raise you a friggin pumpkin. You think you feel huge now? Just wait sweetheart…

The woman who checked me out at Hobby Lobby the next day greeted me by saying “jokingly”, “Oh please don’t tell me you’re going to go into labor any minute!” Don’t worry woman-I’ve-never-met, you won’t be delivering any babies today–I’ve still got 6 weeks to go. But thank you for letting me know that you don’t think I could possibly get any bigger… I hate this part of pregnancy for a number of reasons, but stuff like this is reason #1. Once you hit 8 months, strangers will go out of their way to tell you how huge you are. “Oh look at you–you’re ready to pop!”, “Oh, should you be out shopping? Looks like it’ll be any day now”, and  so on and so forth. Mind you, they have no idea that they’re being rude. But THEY’RE BEING REALLY RUDE. I’m able to handle these comments much better this time around. When people started saying stuff like that to me when I was pregnant with Eowyn, my face looked like this:

Fuck Off

Now it looks more like this:

Fake Smile

 

But seriously guys–don’t go out of your way to make a pregnant lady feel bigger than she already is. Just say things like, “Oh, when are you due?” or “Congratulations!” or “Do you know what you’re having?” You know, nice things.

 

Baby Stats:

-Adipose is a bit over 4 pounds now and a little over 17 inches long, about the size of a pineapple

-Rapidly losing the wrinkled alien look (which is good, because that is so last month), and continuing to fill out

-Bones in the skeleton are still hardening, but the skull bones are still not fused together. They need to be adjustable, so to speak, so that the baby can squeeze through the birth canal.

2 comments

  1. I am so proud of you Amanda – you really are The Best… But please why do you call your new baby “Adipose” ??? … Love you always, Nana

Leave a Reply

