My Eggo is Prego: 32 Weeks

32 Weeks

32 Weeks

 

Eesh, I am pregnant. Like really pregnant. I know–I’ve been pregnant the whole time. But I really feel pregnant now. Probably because I’m so friggin pregnant.

Did I mention that this is the part where I become miserable and unbearable?

I’ll attempt to move on to something other than mentioning over and over how pregnant I am.

There’s a phenomenon that occurs inside households that have been infiltrated by children (especially small ones): you are constantly cleaning your house, yet said house is in a constant state of utter desolation. It’s quite frustrating. Especially when you’re nesting and trying to get the house ready for a new baby to come in and destroy things. So for the past 2 Tuesdays, Tyler’s parents have taken the girls off our hands for 6 hours so that we could clean and unpack stuff that’s been in our basement since we moved last October, and squeeze in some Mommy and Daddy time. It’s amazing all that we can get done when we don’t have 2 tornadoes undoing everything we just did. This last Tuesday, I went to Goodwill and found a media cabinet that was on sale for a dollar. I brought it home with some Goodwill bins and a shower rod from Target, and I turned it into the perfect storage solution for the girls’ dress up clothes and accessories.

wpid-20140828_121856.jpg

Take that, Pinterest!

Before, all of the dress up clothes were upstairs in their bedroom closet and all of the accessories were in a pile on the floor of their playroom. They hardly ever wore their dress up clothes because they were out of sight, and therefore out of mind. The pile of accessories was the bane of my existence. Since putting together this dress up cabinet, the girls have practically lived in their costumes. The whole thing cost a total of $42! One of these days I’ll paint it, because the current paint job is in dire distress. But for now, this will do. Mommy win!

Just when I was going to label this as my easiest pregnancy, Henderson Adipose orchestrated the ultimate sneak attack: the elevated yeast levels in my system from the hormones have caused a fungal infection on my nails. So now I’m on a regiment of soaking my nails in vinegar every day and taking oregano oil pills 3 times a day. Oh, and since yeast feeds off of sugar, I’ve had to cut that out of my diet. I’ve got a sweet tooth and I’m really pregnant, so I was not happy to hear that last bit. The oregano pills have multiplied my already increased stomach acid by 100%, giving me burning oregano burps. But I’ve figured out that taking 4 Tums immediately before choking down the oregano pills makes all the difference in the world. No one warned me about sugar withdrawals though. I didn’t even know that was a thing, but let me tell you–it’s legit! For the first 3 days, I felt completely horrible. I was even more exhausted than I was before. I literally couldn’t stay awake; I was involuntarily falling asleep on the couch during the day. I had horrible headaches, and my whole body just felt so heavy. I felt like I was just dragging myself through the days. So although I am NOT happy about this fungal infection thing, it did make me realize that my sugar intake is too high. Although I am not planning on permanently eliminating sugar from my diet, I am definitely going to continue cutting back after the infection has cleared. It turns out that oatmeal tastes good sweetened with honey and banana, coffee with only unsweetened almond milk is not disgusting, and unsweetened applesauce sprinkled with ground cinnamon is a satisfying dessert.

Still not a cool move Henderson Adipose. I will remember this.

I think Ary subconsciously knows that New Baby is coming soon, because she’s been really clingy lately. Or maybe it’s because she’s teething AGAIN! I mean, seriously–look at all of these teeth!

wpid-img_20140717_085614-1.jpg So color us surprised when she’s starts getting irritable, suddenly loses her appetite (when normally she eats twice as much as her older sister), and gets diarrhea. It wasn’t until I caught her with her hands in her mouth crying in pain that I put 2 and 2 together. I asked her what was hurting and she said, “TEEF! TEEF!” Sure enough, she’s cutting her final set of molars. Poor thing does not handle pain well at all (can’t say as I blame her). This week has been challenging because she’s super grumpy and wants me to hold her all the time, which is almost physically impossible with the size of Adipose.

I don’t know if Eowyn is acting up because she senses the arrival of the New Baby or if it’s just the Terrible 3’s hitting really late, but this kid has been in rare form. Normally, Eowyn’s my little angel; sweet and caring and very rarely in trouble. But lately she’s been throwing tantrums at the drop of a hat, not playing nicely with her sister, and has decided that she doesn’t like her bed anymore, so she throws massive fits at every nap time and bed time. Not to mention this sassy attitude she’s evolved out of thin air. All. Month. Long.  She’s really been trying our patience. I am desperately hoping that this horrible phase will end soon, because I am getting too pregnant to deal with this toddler nonsense.

Baby is still really active. He/she has been doing this really fun thing where he/she kicks directly down. Nothing like being kicked in the netherlands from the inside. Have I mentioned that I’m done being pregnant?

 

Baby Stats:

-Adipose is about the size of a jicama, weighing around 3 3/4 pounds and measuring 16.7″

-I’m supposed to be gaining about a pound a week at this point, half of which goes right to Adipose (thank God)

-The main goal is still fattening up (Adipose, not me)

One comment

  1. Usually the last pregnancy month is hard to take… but try to think positive…the baby is going to be born soon and you will be able to see that angelical little face….Please, please name the Baby with a name that I do not have a hard time pronouncing…. I am too old for this…. Thank you for relating of what you are going thru… Love you very much, Nana Haro

Leave a Reply

