My Eggo is Prego: 31 Weeks

Sorry I went MIA again last week. My tiny humans have been more demanding than usual lately, and I had a lot of Doctor Who to watch before the season premiere, which was yesterday. Well ok, I didn’t have to watch Doctor Who. But I wanted to. Being a mom, I very rarely do anything for myself. As silly as it may sound to anyone who isn’t a nerd, slamming through 7 seasons in a month with my hubby was a lot of fun. It was something that we could do together and involved a world we both have come to love. Life is all about the little things; the happy things, which are usually stupid things. I had a lot of fun wasting time with my best friend, and I will never apologize for it.

I forgot to take a picture for week 30, so here’s the one for week 31:

 

31 Weeks

31 Weeks

One of Tyler’s cousins got married in Wyoming the week beforehand and were having a local reception for people (like us) who weren’t able to make it for the destination wedding. Their wedding had a rustic/western feel, so most people wore cowboy boots, including the girls. They rocked it!

wpid-20140817_130439.jpg

Other than that, we’ve been laying low the last couple of weeks. I’ve had a hard time with my pregnancy symptoms and have slowed down quite a bit. There are days where I have Braxton-Hicks contractions from the moment I wake up to the moment I go to bed. My belly has dropped a bit, increasing my hip pain from all of the pressure and making me pee every 10 minutes. My morning sickness has returned, so I’ve had a lot of nausea. My mouth has also been really dry, which is a random pregnancy symptom I never had with either of the girls. And I’m exhausted all the time. Basically what I’m saying is that I’ve really been enjoying being pregnant these last couple of weeks [insert sarcasm here]. I’ve been having cravings again too. My favorite lunch item is grilled peanut butter and jelly. Peanut Butter and jelly quesadillas are also the bee’s knees. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, people! I’m also quite fond of chips again. And brownies, although I sadly lost my old faithful brownie recipe and haven’t found a comparable one to replace it. Hopefully I don’t gain 20 pounds this month. That’d really be a shame because so far I’ve only gained 15.

I’ve been trying to put my own discomfort aside though and still do fun things with the girls. In an attempt to forget about the nasty heat, I started doing some Halloween crafts with the girls. This mama is done with the heat; bring on Autumn! Unless it was a day where I was having a lot of contractions I’ve also made an effort to get the kids outside every day, even though it means me sweating through my clothes. They have some neighbor friends who they love playing with. I’m so glad that we have kids that are Eowyn’s age right next door. We’re all trying to get our kids outside as much as possible, for we know that winter is coming. Hopefully this winter won’t be awful like last year so the kids can play in the snow.

 

The Toddler Gang

The Toddler Gang

On the bright side, my mom surprised me with more maternity clothes! Nothing like a few new outfits to lift a girl’s spirits ; )

My main project right now is to dig up all of our baby stuff. Our packing process before moving here last year was hectic and highly disorganized, so there are a lot of MISC boxes in the basement. Time to start rearranging to make space for new baby’s things; no idea where to put the swing, or where best to set up the infant bath tub. Need to find all of the bibs and burp cloths, bottles and breast pump. Even though this is the third time around, it’s still overwhelming trying to figure out how you’re going to make space in the chaos of life for another tiny human. But it will all work out in the end, as it always does.

 

 

Baby Stats for Week 30:

-Baby is about 15.7″ long and weighs around 3 pounds, about the size of a large head of cabbage

-Baby’s eyesight is continuing to develop, but the eyes aren’t fully “done” until after birth. Babies are born with 20/400 vision, so they can only see things that are a few inches away from them for the first few weeks

 

Baby Stats for Week 31:

-Baby is now over 16″ long and around 3 1/3 pounds, about the size of a coconut

-Baby can now move head from side to side (which I’ve definitely been feeling)

-Baby is starting to plump up now, accumulating fat. I think I’ll call Baby ‘Adipose’ from now on

 

Cheers!

One comment

  1. It seems strange that you still have morning sickness … but all pregnancies tend to have something different…. You look radiant and very healthy ….. God bless you…..Love, Nana

Leave a Reply

