My Eggo is Prego: 28 Weeks

28 Weeks

28 Weeks

I know, I know–my hair. We were outside playing with the kids; I was going for function, not beauty.

So Monday happened… Poop aside, I had a successful OB appointment: I passed my glucose test, baby’s still looking good, and I got my ROGAM shot (I have had to get this shot with every pregnancy because my blood type is O-. If the baby’s blood type is O+, my body would produce antibodies that would cross the placenta and kill the baby’s red blood cells).

I’ve been having a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions. They are so irritating. Sometimes they do this really fun thing where they go down my legs and cause really awesome leg cramps. Needless to say, Mommy’s been pretty grumpy…

My Mother-in-law surprised me with some new maternity clothes! Like I’ve mentioned before, I started this pregnancy 15 pounds lighter than when I got pregnant with Arya, so quite a few of my tops are too big. She was near the Motherhood Maternity store one day and decided to pop in and get me a few things. She also treated me to some new slip on shoes since my feet have gotten too swollen for my other flats. They’re called Fitflops, and they’re amazing! Not only are they super comfortable and stylish, but they give great support for a slip on shoe. Obviously, I married into the right family ; ) Thank you again Nancy for blessing me this week!

After hearing of the poop incident that happened on Monday, Nancy also volunteered to babysit for us the next day so that the hubby and I could go see the new Planet of the Apes movie. She volunteered! Absolutely amazing. It was so nice to have a break, especially after all the cleaning.

We got some gifts for Henderson in the mail this week: a bassinet, bassinet sheets, and diapers, all sent from my Nana. One of the sheets had pink polka dots on it, so I take it that’s her guess for the gender ; ) Eowyn saw the pink and looked confused, “But Mom, the new baby can’t use pink! It’s a brother!” I’m seriously concerned about whether Eowyn will love the baby if it turns out to be another girl… Getting a big baby piece made it very real for me. Now I feel the nesting bug starting to fester inside of me. All I want to do is clean and organize everything.

The girls and I took a stab at sugar cookies again this week. For some reason, sugar cookies never turn out for me. I can make pretty much anything from scratch: fondant, royal icing, cake, any other cookie. But ask me to make the simplest of cookies, and I’m sunk. These were no exception. But the girls had a lot of fun decorating them.

wpid-20140728_140052.jpg

wpid-20140728_140206.jpg

Eowyn's Darth Vadar Cookie

Eowyn’s Darth Vadar Cookie

My dear friend Andi also blogs (She’s amazing; if you’re not following her yet, you should. Click here to go to her site). She has started a “31 Acts of Deliberate Kindness in 31 Days” campaign, and I decided to join her. It’s so much fun doing kind things for other people, and Eowyn is finally at an age where she can partake with me. We’re only 3 days in, but we’re already having so much fun! You should join us too. But I warn you–it’s addicting.

 

Baby Stats:

-Baby weighs in around 2 1/4 pounds and is about 14.8 inches (about the size of a large eggplant)

-Baby is opening and closing eyes now, but it’s more of a reflexive blink rather than deliberate blink.

-Baby has eye lashes now.

 

 

Cheers, mates! (Did I mention that I’ve been watching Doctor Who every day?)

 

One comment

  1. You and Henderson are looking pretty cute. He is getting to be quite the bump! You both will be looking very stylish in your new duds. A pregnant body can be overwhelming and feeling and looking nice as your body changes can go along way for your self esteem. You got this! 🙂 Your very welcome Amanda. Happy to brighten your week. Happy 5th Anniversary too on the 7th and we’ll see you when we get back home.

Leave a Reply

