My Eggo is Prego: 27 Weeks

27 Weeks

27 Weeks

This picture’s a bit better than last week’s; at least I “did” my hair. Still look exhausted (because I am).

Honestly, I don’t even remember what happened this week. I feel like I was really busy, but can’t describe what exactly I was doing with my life. That’s pretty much motherhood in a nutshell: at the end of the day we’re completely exhausted because the whole day was go-go-go-go-go, yet when asked what we did, we’ve got nothing. Raising children is like being in a time vortex, for you are constantly busy while accomplishing absolutely nothing.

Speaking of time vortex–I’ve decided to start watching Doctor Who. I’m trying to catch up before the new season starts, which is quite the feat considering there are 100 episodes to get through. However, the girls’ nap schedule is still in-flux, so while I’m stuck upstairs putting Ary back in her bed 50 times and yelling empty threats at them every time they start goofing off, I sneak in some Doctor on my Kindle with one ear bud in so I can still hear the shenanigans in the other room. Add to that the 1-2 episodes I’ve been watching with the hubby at night once the kiddlets go to bed, and I’ve gotten through 2 seasons in 2 weeks. I must say, I rather do like it. But with the intense infusion of Brit, I had to stop myself from calling chips ‘crisps’ yesterday. Next thing you know, I’ll be yelling, “Oy mate!” at some poor unsuspecting bloke. In the Midwest no less–they’ll think I’m nutters…

This was my last week of the blissful second trimester. From here on out it’s going to be downhill (until Henderson is born, of course). I hate the third trimester. Especially the last month. I apologize in advance; I’m going to become moody and unbearable. The dreaded Braxton-Hicks practice contractions have already started. Of course they don’t hurt that bad at all, but it’s annoying nonetheless. At this point, they’re like mild period cramps. Cramps for 3 months, with growing intensity until they turn into active labor contractions at the end–I think anyone would be grumpy, don’t you?

Truth be told, this pregnancy went by so fast for me. A little too fast. I can’t wrap my mind around the fact that I’m entering my third trimester already; I’ll have a third baby in 3 months! So.not.ready. Probably best not to think about it too much, lest I drive myself mad.

freaking out

 

 

Baby Stats:

-Henderson is almost 2 pounds and 14 1/2 inches long, about the size of a head of cauliflower

-Baby is sleeping and waking in regular intervals (wish his/her sisters would follow suit there)

-Baby is opening and closing eyes

-There is more brain tissue developing, so the brain is really active right now

-The lungs are still very underdeveloped, but if the baby was born at this point, he/she should be able to survive with the help of machines. (my own mom was born at 24 weeks, and she’s perfectly fine now)

 

I better head to bed (I’m writing this at midnight right now), before I pull a Baby Ary and conk out on the floor.

wpid-20140722_010644.jpg

 

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

