My Eggo is Prego: 22 Weeks

22 Weeks

22 Weeks

In keeping with the trend of this month, this week was quite busy. June ended up being PACKED, and it’s not going to let up until after the 4th of July.

This week started on Father’s Day (don’t worry; I put makeup on in the car after we took this picture). We drove to a town 2 hours away to spend the afternoon with family. My husband’s grandpa turned 80 on Tuesday, so it was a combination Father’s Day/Birthday celebration. We went to the same restaurant that we always gather at and feasted on their delicious family style fried chicken dinner. I (of course) made a birthday cake. Since it was for the big 8-0, I thought it would be fun to make the cake look like a newspaper and put headlines and facts from the year he was born. Unfortunately, Hitler, Stalin, and Mao were all coming to power the year he was born, and the U.S. was in the middle of the Great Depression, so it was a bit hard to find “happy” headlines to include. Although nothing says ‘birthday cake’ like slapping ‘HITLER DECLARES HIMSELF FUHRER’ on it in big, bold letters.

wpid-20140615_131232.jpg

The restaurant had live music on their patio, so Tyler and the girls did an impromptu Daddy/Daughter dance after dinner. Moments like these are the stuff of life. I will never forget those 2 minutes where everything around us disappeared, and we were filled with pure happiness because we were together, just living on love. It’s moments like this that make life worth it.

The next day, one of my friends from California came to spend the week with us. I’ve been friends with this girl since first grade! She’s our first California visitor who has come during decent weather, so of course Wisconsin decides to make it rain the entire time. Luckily she was a good sport about it. We still had fun just hanging out together. Two of the days held in the rain until evening, so we were able to take the kids to the river and explore the downtown area a bit. My mother-in-law (who is a Stella & Dot stylist) had another jewelry party so we left Tyler with the kids and had a girl’s night out. I let my friend drink my glass of wine, considering I’m pregnant and all. It’s always nice to have an adult evening, and especially so if it includes gorgeous jewelry (if you’re interested in buying any jewelry, I’d recommend heading over to my mother-in-law’s website; I just love Stella & Dot’s stuff!) We also made it to the Mall of America, which is always fun! My friend loves shopping, so it was love at first sight for her. We took the kids to the Nickelodeon Universe theme park that they have there, so they had a blast. The week flew by though; it seemed like I had just picked her up from the airport, but then there I was dropping her off again! I am so grateful that she spent her vacation with us.

The girls and I at the river

The girls and I at the river

My friend with the girls on the carousel

My friend with the girls on the carousel

We’ve only been in Wisconsin for 8 months, so there are some things that I’m still adjusting to. Like not having toilet seat covers in public restrooms, for instance. This week opened my eyes to two different things:

  1. Don’t go to “the beach” and expect it to actually be there. Growing up in Southern California, the “beach” is always the beach. Here, the “beaches” do not run the entire length of the rivers; there are small sections of sand here and there. And apparently when you’ve had a horrible winter like the one we just had, it means that the “beaches” remain flooded much longer than they are supposed to. Imagine our shock as 2 California girls to find this when we decided to go to “the beach”: wpid-20140617_141215.jpg
  2. Bug spray needs to be put into your monthly budget come June. The mosquitoes and other flying insects intensify with the humidity. I found this thing in our garage the other day. I was completely disturbed because I’d never seen anything like this, so I did what any other rational adult would do: I took a picture of it, ran screaming into the house after failing to kill it, and then posted it on Facebook asking if anyone knew what it was. I thought for sure that it was native to the Midwest, but a bunch of my SoCal friends knew what it was. Apparently if I would have gone camping ever in my life, I would have seen one. But I don’t camp. I’m just happy to hear that they eat mosquitoes and not people. They’re called ‘crane flies’, in case you’re ignorant like me.

wpid-20140617_105008.jpg

 

The pregnancy continues to do well. Henderson kicks and moves more and more every week. Sleeping is difficult, but that’s to be expected when you have another person moving around your insides all night. This was my last week of the fifth month; it’s getting real now, guys!

 

Baby Stats:

-Baby is about a whopping 1 pound and measuring around 11 inches, about the size of a spaghetti squash

-The lips, eyes, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct

-The eyes are formed, but the irises still lack pigment

-Tiny tooth bubs are developing underneath the gums

-The pancreas is still steadily developing

 

I’ll leave you with an adorable family selfie. Here’s to another busy (but fun) week!

wpid-20140620_124936.jpg

One comment

  1. Fun week! Thanks for the awesome 80th birthday cake for my Dad. It was very special and he really liked it. 😉 A special daddy-daughter moment too with the dance outside just before you left. Always great to take those precious moments….as those are the things that really matter in your heart and will always remember.

    Fun to see Angelica again and share a bit of adult/girl time together. Appreciated your help and always wonderful to have two great models. :-)))

    Summer has bloomed and has been BUSY! Just wait until there are 3!!!

Leave a Reply

