My Eggo is Prego: 19 Weeks

19 Weeks

19 Weeks

*Sorry this post is a day late. Yesterday was the hubby’s birthday, so I was busy all day and didn’t get around to posting it.*

This week started out with a day date with the husband. Mimi (that’s what the girls call Tyler’s mom) offered to babysit so we could go see the new X-Men movie, Days of Future Past. Which is why I have a nice dress on for the picture : ) That movie was amazing! If you are a fantasy fan, it is a must see. The scene where Charles was talking to the older version of himself seriously had me in tears. It was our first date since we saw The Desolation of Smaug in theaters back in December. To say that we needed it would be an understatement! We love our girls, but it’s always so refreshing to have a few hours to ourselves to just be us again.

When we went to pick up our little angels, we got one of the worst reports ever! Baby Ary was in rare form that day. Apparently she took off running towards the street while they were playing outside, and when Mimi went running after her, Eowyn ignored her request to stay at the top of the driveway and chose to follow on her bike instead. Their driveway is on a slope and Eowyn is still learning to use her brakes, so as she gained some speed, she freaked out and crashed her bike into the grass. When the bike hit the lawn, the front tire popped off and sent Eowyn crashing into the ground. Thank God she landed in the grass, so she was shaken up, but fine otherwise. Mimi decided it would be best to play inside after that. She got them set up with toys and ran to use the restroom quickly. In the 2 minutes that they were alone, Ary got a small dish from the kitchen and smashed it on the floor, creating a landmine of porcelain. As Mimi cleaned up that mess, she heard the front door open. Ary had unlocked it and was attempting to escape.

Tyler and I listened in open-mouthed horror to all of this, and while we were busy talking about how horrible she had been, Ary went into the living room and broke something else! She then proceeded to set off the carbon monoxide detector and pillage the pantry. Don’t think we’ll be going on any more dates any time soon… And I definitely owe my mother-in-law a drink!

 

What babysitting Ary is like

What babysitting Ary is like

My mother-in-law found a recipe for these yummy cookie bars called, Salted Caramel Cookie Dough Billionaire Bars. They have a layer of sugar cookie, a layer of salted caramel, a layer of chocolate chip cookie dough, and are topped with a chocolate/peanut butter layer. She was sure that there was no way to do a dairy free version because it was loaded with dairy products. My answer: challenge accepted! I made my own salted caramel using margarine instead of butter, and the rest of the substitutions were quite easy actually. And oh.my.God. are they good! I’m planning on doing a special post later on how I was able to make these dairy free, but click here if you want the dairy version of the recipe.

Salted Caramel Cookie Dough Billionaire Bars

Dairy Free Salted Caramel Cookie Dough Billionaire Bars

As you can see, my sweet tooth is back.

Eowyn was able to write her name entirely on her own the other day! I’ve practiced writing with her quite a few times over the last year, whenever she peeked an interest. She’s still so young that I’ve decided to hold off on an official preschool “curriculum”. Whenever I’ve tried to sit her down to do activities, she’s interested for 5 minutes and then is done. So instead of enforcing a really structured learning environment, I sneak learning into our everyday life. And then one day, she walks up to me proud as can be, and declares that she wrote her name all by herself. I am so very proud of her.

"Mom, I wrote my name all by myself!"

“Mom, I wrote my name all by myself!”

After her name, she tackled ‘Arya’ and ‘Mom’ as well : )

wpid-20140529_122141.jpg

wpid-20140529_122401.jpg

We’re still working on her D’s for ‘Dad’.

Henderson has been moving a lot! I never felt this much movement with either of the girls. This baby has got things to do! I was even able to see my stomach visibly move last night, which absolutely blew my mind because the baby is so small!

I had a checkup on Wednesday and the doctor says everything looks good : ) Heartbeat is strong as ever. We have the 20 week ultrasound next Wednesday, which we’re really excited for. We’re going to take the girls with us so they can share in that experience. Eowyn is so excited about the new baby; she keeps saying that she really, really wants a brother. I told her to take it up with God, because Mommy has no control over that!

Despite the billion-calorie cookie bars, my weight gain has stayed at a lovely 3 pounds. Neither my doctor or I are worried about that because we both know that the time of serious weight gain is quickly approaching. Until then, I’m perfectly content on allowing Henderson to eat my fat reserves.

Because of all of the movement, I’ve had to pee even more often. Which is great, considering Ary has such a knack for getting into trouble while I sneak away for 2 minutes to the bathroom. I’ve also noticed my feet swelling already. I have to be careful to take time to put my feet up throughout the day, otherwise I’m in a world of hurt. I finally found my old reliable maternity support belt though. Towards the end of the moving process, we started throwing things in trash bags because we were out of boxes, time, and sanity. My maternity belt was inside one of those trash bags in the garage. I’m so happy that I found it, as it has been helping to relieve the hip pain I’ve been getting every day. I’m careful not to use it too much though, because I don’t want my muscles to depend on it. But when it gets really bad, it’s so nice to be able to throw it on and get some relief. We really must finish unpacking one of these days.

 

Baby Stats:

-Henderson is about the size of a large heirloom tomato, measuring around 6 inches long (head to rump), and weighing in somewhere around 8 1/2 ounces

-The hair on the scalp is sprouting

-Baby’s brain is designating the areas for all of the senses this week (no wonder I’ve been so tired!)

 

I will leave you with an adorable picture of the girls that I took on Memorial Day, because it’s seriously the cutest thing in the world.

wpid-20140526_183257.jpg

 

Are you not dying from the cute??

 

I wish you all a wonderful week!

One comment

  1. You look beautiful Amanda! My baby moves like crazy too. I was so impressive how early I started feeling her move. It is magical isn’t it? I just love it!

Leave a Reply

