My Eggo is Prego: 18 Weeks

18 Weeks

18 Weeks

 

This week started off with a Mother’s Day do-over. My in-laws took Tyler, the girls and I to the Italian restaurant that we had planned to go to and had a delicious dinner. I went all out and ordered a steak, and it was perfection. They even had sorbet on their dessert menu, so I got to partake in dessert which almost never happens because of the dairy allergy thing. It was such a beautiful day weather wise too, as you can see from the picture.

The rest of this week has been low key and completely ordinary. Except for when I felt New Baby kick for the first time Monday night! I never felt either of the girls start moving until after I was 20 weeks so I was surprised to be feeling this little one already. But then I remembered how active he/she has been during the 2 ultrasounds we’ve had and it seems to fit. I’ve always read that the beginning movements feel like flutters; I wouldn’t know because by the time I felt the girls, they were big enough that it felt like gentle tumbles not flutters. Let me tell you–this kick that I felt was exactly that. A KICK! That was no flutter, my friends. I felt it hit my stomach hard and then roll down. If there had been someone feeling my belly at the time, I’m positive they would have felt it too. This baby is strong! And active. And apparently, feisty. Which is exactly what I need in my life; a 3rd feisty, strong-willed child. Perhaps if we don’t name this one after a strong literary character like we did with the girls, it’ll tame him/her out a bit. If it’s a girl, we should name her Sansa because she is the most boring, useless character. Then maybe, just maybe this baby will be calm and normal and boring (yeah right, lol!).

I am all about avocado this week. Some of my favorite concoctions: mashed avocado and Ruffles in a warmed tortilla; avocado and bacon sandwiches with balsamic vinaigrette and olive oil. My husband is cringing right now, as he hates avocados. Neither of the kids like them either. Oh well, more for me and New Baby : )

Oh, I almost forgot New Baby has a new nickname: Henderson. Don’t ask how it came to be; it’s an inside joke between a friend and I, and won’t make sense to anyone else. My friend came up with it, and she may have been drinking a margarita at the time… Regardless, Henderson it is!

Here are this week’s baby stats:

-Baby Henderson is about the size of a bell pepper, measuring in around 5 1/2 inches long crown to rump and weighing in around 7 ounces

-Baby Henderson is busy flexing arms and legs this week (no kidding!)

-The ears are finally in their final position

-The protective myelin sheath is beginning to form around Henderson’s nerves, which is a process that will continue for a year after birth.

 

Leave a Reply

