My Eggo is Prego: 17 Weeks

17 Weeks

17 Weeks

 

This week started on Mother’s Day, so I expected to be able to take a nice picture with my hair done and maybe even some makeup (gasp!). However, all plans went SPLAT! on the floor that morning when Baby Ary threw up her water. Poor thing ended up getting the nasty stomach bug that Tyler and I had just recovered from. We had planned to go to a carnival with my in-laws that had set up in a parking lot for the week, and eat an early dinner at a nice restaurant. Eowyn was still healthy, and she had been looking forward to the carnival all week. It had been a tough week for our little 3 year old with Mom and Dad being sick, and we really didn’t want to top it off by canceling our carnival plans. So we sent her off with Afi & Mimi (Tyler’s parents) to have the fun day that we had planned, while Tyler & I stayed home and took care of Baby.

Before I was a mom, I didn’t really get the whole Mother’s Day and Father’s Day thing. It seemed mostly to be just another holiday created by Hallmark and Hershey’s to guilt consumers into buying stuff they otherwise would not. Since becoming a mom, and realizing the level of sacrifice made in raising these tiny humans, I really look forward to Mother’s Day. Motherhood is hands down the hardest job I’ve ever had (or ever will have). So for there to be a day where we all take a break from the hustle and bustle of life to say ‘thank you’ to the people who have sacrificed everything in order to give you everything is a beautiful thing.

It’s easy to build up expectations leading up to Mother’s Day. ‘Queen for a Day’ sounds so lovely; sleeping in because the husband got the kids, breakfast in bed, a shower before midnight, uninterrupted time to do your hair and makeup, and NO COOKING. Sounds too good to be true, really. Probably because it is too good to be true. The fact of the matter is, once you become a parent, the job never ends. I’m sure that even after I die, I will still be praying and petitioning for my children every day from heaven. It would be impossible to payback our mothers and fathers for all that they’ve done in a measly 24 hours; no one day could possibly live up to the unrealistic expectation that we’re sold in commercials.

So when our Mother’s Day plans were ruined for the 3rd year in a row, there was a part of me that wanted to be pissed. Not at Baby, of course; just at life. After I spend day in and day out giving all of me, I deserve one day out of 365 that’s about me, damn it! But there in lies the danger. This entitlement is poison that will put bitterness into your heart. And once bitterness is planted, it festers and grows faster than any garden weed. It will destroy you if you allow it into your life.

So instead of making it about me, I did what we mothers do: I put aside myself and gave my everything to my family. I chose to not be jealous of the fun day that my in-laws got to spend with my oldest daughter, but instead rejoiced that my little girl had an “awesome” day (her words). Instead, I caught vomit and cuddled the sickness out of our youngest all day. Instead of filling my heart with bitterness, I filled it with love and let that love pour over my family.

This weeks picture is what motherhood looks like: never getting around to changing out of your pajamas, hair uncombed, and dark circles. I am not ashamed to show you the truth, because to lay self aside for others is the most beautiful thing one could ever do with their life.

The rest of the week had it’s ups and downs.

The weather’s been warming up, so the girls and I had a picnic on Wednesday:

Baby Ary's trying to pose like her sissy

Baby Ary’s trying to pose like her sissy

Poor Eowyn ended up getting the stomach bug later that night, so Daddy and I were up half the night with her.

I got to pass on a childhood memory with my girls by making strawberry shortcakes with them like how my mom used to do with my sister and I:

wpid-20140513_200802.jpg

We went on a couple walks through our neighborhood, and met one of our neighbors. They have 4 kids and seem like really nice people. I’m very glad that the weather is finally warming up so we can finally start meeting people out here.

The girls exploring in one of the empty lots of our neighborhood during one of our walks

The girls exploring in one of the empty lots of our neighborhood during one of our walks

As far as my pregnancy goes, I’ve had quite a bit of hip pain this week. My hips are stretching out in preparation for New Baby’s inevitable growth spurt, and it is far from comfortable. There have been many days that ended with me limping up the stairs because it’s hard to lift my legs after a long day of chasing the other two. Tis but a phase that shall pass.

My taste bubs continue to be very picky. I suddenly can’t stand the pickle chips that I had been putting in my deli sandwiches, and have also not been that into roast beef this week. I do however like peanut butter again. Peanut butter and honey toast has become a staple this week. I’m also really into avocados. We had a dutch apple pie for dessert after dinner one night, and I may have been responsible for eating most of it. Not in one sitting, mind you. Soooo good!

I’m not sleeping well either, but this happened to me with both of my other pregnancies too. Oh well; I gave up on sleep 2 children ago.

As always, I’ll close with some baby stats:

-Baby is about the size of a palm, at 5 inches long (crown to rump) and weighing in at about 5 ounces

-Baby is beginning to form body fat

-Baby is practicing sucking and swallowing

-Baby’s heart rate is now regulated by the brain (no more spontaneous beats), and is averaging around 140-150 beats per minute (every time the doctor has checked our baby’s heart rate, it’s been in the 150’s)

 

Also, this is the last week of my 4th month! Thanks to the stomach plague, I’m back down to my pre-pregnancy weight, but that won’t last long! Pretty soon I will have quite the bump to show off.

One more thing before I let you go enjoy your Sunday–the girls and I made blueberry french toast roll ups for breakfast this morning.

Blueberry French Toast Roll Ups

Blueberry French Toast Roll Ups

 

In case you’re wondering–yes, they were as good as they look! Do yourself a favor and click here for the recipe so you can enjoy them too!

 

Happy Sunday, everyone!

 

One comment

  1. You are one of the best Mother’s that I know….I am very proud of you…..Have a Happy Mother’s Day for the rest of the year!… Love always, Nana

Leave a Reply

