My Eggo is Prego: 16 Weeks

16 Weeks

16 Weeks

 

This week started off with a birthday party for one of Eowyn’s friends from dance class. We’ve become friends with the family, so the girls know each other from more than just dance. Cake decorating is a hobby of mine, so I offered to make the cake to help take some of the load off from the mom because I know first hand how much work goes into these kid parties. It was a dinosaur themed party, so I put together a dinosaur cupcake cake:

Dinosaur Cupcake Cake

Dinosaur Cupcake Cake

 

I photographed the whole process, so I’m planning on putting together a tutorial post on how I made it soon. Not gonna lie–I’m pretty proud of how this one turned out.

The party was fun, but Eowyn kind of had a hard time playing with the other kids. They didn’t really seem to want to play with her. The birthday girl and her sister, both of whom Eowyn has had many play dates with, were too busy playing with the other kids to include Eowyn. It was so heart breaking to watch our lovely little girl have such a hard time fitting in with the other kids. The mama bear part of me wanted to step in and tell those kids to include her, put I know that she has to learn how to socialize with her peers on her own. So I bit my lip, and watched the ever so painful process of my little girl learning a hard life lesson: sometimes, making friends isn’t easy. I used to be very shy when I was growing up, always feeling awkward in social situations with new people. Which made it so much worse for me to watch my baby girl go through the same thing. But, she is stronger than I was, for she never stopped trying to play with the other kids. And when they were off somewhere and she couldn’t find them, she didn’t pout for long. She just started playing on her own, or with her sister, or with Tyler and I. Although it was hard to watch her struggle, I was very proud of her for never giving up and finding ways to have fun regardless of how rude the other kids were being towards her.

The rest of my week kind of got consumed by sickness. Tyler and I came down with a nasty stomach bug Wednesday night, which hit us full force on Thursday. I got it worse than him, and spent the entire day in and out of the bathroom. Thankfully the girls did not get it, but that meant trying to take care of two energetic girls while being sick as a dog. Speaking of dogs, we also had to deal with our Aussie-Shepherd freaking out all day because of the never ending thunder storms. It was a very long day. Tyler’s mom risked infecting herself by coming to our rescue half way through the day, bringing medicine, gatorade, and soup with her. We were finally able to rest without the girls jumping on us, and she even stayed long enough to put them to bed and do our dishes for us. Such a God send. By the end of the day, I weighed myself out of curiosity and was shocked to see that I had lost 9 pounds! I didn’t even know it was possible to lose 9 pounds in a day. I think that’s the sickest I’ve ever been in my life. It was only by the grace of God that I was able to get through it.

The sickness only lasted a day, but I woke up on Friday feeling totally drained (I wonder why). I was having heart palpitations and was really light headed, so I went to the ER. I figured I needed IV fluids, but after some tests, they told me that I had done a really good job of drinking water despite being so sick because I wasn’t that dehydrated. I was just exhausted. My body needed rest and more fluids, but no need for the IV stuff. Considering I have a thing about needles, I was happy to go home un-poked. Just to be safe, they did an ultrasound of Baby. Baby was fine; he/she was moving around so much that it was difficult for the doctor to get a read on the heartbeat. The two times that I’ve had an ultrasound, the first thing that both doctors commented on was how much Baby was moving; as if it’s a tad abnormal to see a baby move so much so early. Looks like we’ve got a super active baby on the way… Which is great, because you know, our first two kids are so boring and low energy…

Ary on the cat tree, turning on the fireplace on the day that I was dying.

Ary on the cat tree, turning on the fireplace on the day that I was dying.

 

When "Mickey Mouse Clubhouse" came on this evening, Eowyn was up in arms (literally; hence the broomstick), yelling, "Seize Mickey! Seize him! He's a thief! We have to kill him!" Don't ask for an explanation, for I will never have one.

When “Mickey Mouse Clubhouse” came on this evening, Eowyn was up in arms (literally; hence the broomstick), yelling, “Seize Mickey! Seize him! He’s a thief! We have to kill him!” Don’t ask for an explanation, for I will never have one.

 

I think New Baby will fit in just fine in this house.

As for me, I’m going to go enjoy the quiet of this Saturday night by reading my devotional, and rest up so that I can (hopefully) have my energy back for Mother’s Day tomorrow.

Oh! Baby Stats; I almost forgot:

-Baby is the size of an avocado; 4 1/2 inches long head to rump, and weighing 3 1/2 ounces

-The legs are much more developed

-The head is much more erect

-The eyes are moving closer to their final position (they start at the side of the head)

-The ears are also close to their final position (they start at the neck)

-The patterning of the scalp has started, although there isn’t any recognizable hair yet

-Toenails have started growing

 

Happy Sunday, everyone! And to all my fellow mamas out there: Happy Mother’s Day!

One comment

  1. I love your blogs! Helps my heart feel close since I can’t be there like I was when you were preggo with Eowyn and Arya. So glad you’re on the mend! You know how they say each Baby you carry weighs more than the preceding sibs? Maybe, just cuz it’s you and Tyler, each Baby is more active? Can you imagine the shenanigans New Baby will get into with Baby Ary?!! Hahaha! 🙂 Love you all! ❤

Leave a Reply

