My Eggo is Prego: 15 Weeks

15 Weeks

15 Weeks

 

First of all, let me apologize for the state of my hair in this weeks picture. It was raining for the 100th day in a row, and this was taken at the end of a long day. We went to visit extended family who live about 2 hours away. I was actually in the mood for chicken, which was good because fried chicken was on the menu for dinner. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this yet, but I’m allergic to dairy and living in the dairy state. This state is constantly trying to kill me, right down to the milk and honey hand soap that I almost used at my chiropractor’s office (true story). These poor people have no idea what the heck to do with me. They look at me completely perplexed that I’ve managed to live as long as I have without any dairy. It’s hilarious. I couldn’t have any of the side dishes or the pre-dinner bread at the restaurant that we ate at that night, because it had dairy in it. So I ended up eating a lot of their delicious, perfectly fried chicken. Like, a lot. But it’s all I could eat! And I’m making a nervous system.

This whole week turned out to be much busier than anticipated. Monday happened; I survived. Then I spent 4 1/2 hours doing errands with the girls on Thursday. We hit 5 different places, including a store that’s 40 minutes away, coming home long enough to unload the groceries, and then turn right back around for a play date with Eowyn’s friends from dance class. Ary was the only one who got a nap, and it was only 15 minutes long. Although it was exhausting, it was totally worth it because it made Eowyn’s day.

Eowyn with her friends, Brianna and Isabel

Eowyn with her friends, Brianna and Isabel

 

Friday was a much needed low key day at home. The rain even stopped long enough for the girls and I to get outside for a bit.

"Come on Baby, I'll catch you!"

“Come on Baby, I’ll catch you!”

 

Saturday was a long day. I was out of the house by 8:30 am and gone for 7 hours helping my mother-in-law do a Stella and Dot trunk show. She’s a stylist, and her trunk shows are seriously the best. She’s got a ton of samples and works really hard putting everything together so that her hostesses have a fun and successful party. (If anyone is looking to buy jewelry for say, Mother’s Day or something, here’s a link to my mother-in-law’s website.) I forgot to take a picture of one of her table spreads, but everything looked great. I got to meet some new ladies and have a bit of a break from the kids, who were having some Daddy time. Plus, I was happy to be able to help my mother-in-law out. But out of the 7 hours that I was gone, I sat down for maybe 1 of them. I also got dehydrated and spent the rest of the day trying to catch up on my fluids. Again–fun, but exhausting.

Eowyn’s friend Brianna from the picture above is having a dinosaur themed birthday party today, for which I offered to make cupcakes for. I like doing the cake for my friends and family whenever I can because I hate to see people either pay a lot of money for a fancy cake, or not get what they want because they don’t want to pay the money for a professional and don’t know how to do it themselves. So if someone I know is in need of a cake for a birthday that is within my capabilities, I always volunteer to do it as a gift. Besides, I really enjoy cake decorating, so it gives me a chance to practice and try new things.

So here I am, writing this post at 11 pm on Saturday night as I wait for cupcakes to cool, after a very long day. But it’s all worth it, because I get to help people out.

As far as my pregnancy goes, clothes are still awkward for me. Most of my maternity things are too big, but almost all of my regular clothes are too small. I have a limited amount of items that fit just right. The weather over here took a nose dive into the mid 30’s and 40’s , so we had to break out the ol’ winter jackets again. Except I can’t actually zip any of my jackets shut, so all the cold air still hits my chest and tummy. I’m very happy to see that the forecast for this coming week is 50’s all around. Spring needs to start springing into action.

Pregnancy is full of bizarre symptoms, one of which I’ve been “suffering” from: clumsiness. As the hormones go around your body relaxing muscles, they aren’t able to distinguish between the muscles that need to be loosened to accommodate your growing tummy, and those that don’t. They pretty much go berserk telling all the muscles in your body to loosen, for good measure. Which results in a weakened grip in the hands. I have been dropping everything I touch. It’s really quite frustrating. Stupid hormones. (*Note: I have not dropped my children. Yet.)

clumsy

Speaking of relaxing muscles, the ones that support the uterus relaxed super early this time around (muscle memory can be evil at times). This is why I popped out so early too. But those poor muscles have already supported the development and growth of 2 other babies, and as I hate exercising, I never went to the trouble to try to strengthen them after Thing 1 or Thing 2 were born. Even though the baby is only about 2 1/2 ounces, mix that with the weight of the amniotic fluid and the placenta, and it’s already creating a strain on those poor muscles. So now whenever I get up after sitting or especially laying down, it hurts. Nothing a maternity belt can’t help though. I’m going to buy one later this week, as I’m pretty sure I threw my old one out when we were moving.

Some exciting news: Baby Ary strung together her first sentence on Friday! She pointed at Eowyn, who was eating a bowl of cereal and she said, “She’s eating!” I said, “Yes Baby; sissy’s eating cereal.” Then she repeated, “She’s eating cereal!” So proud of my smart girls : )

And now for some Baby stats:

-Baby should measure around 4 inches long (crown to rump)

-Baby should weigh around 2 1/2 ounces

-Baby is moving amniotic fluid through the nose and upper respiratory track to help the primitive air sacs in the lungs develop

-The legs are growing longer than the arms now, and Baby can move all the joints and limbs (although I can’t feel anything yet)

-Baby’s eyelids are still fused shut, but Baby can sense light now

-Baby is forming taste buds

-If we wanted to find out the sex of the baby, we could probably find out now. But, we want to be surprised : )

 

Happy Sunday!

3 comments

  1. You are wonderful !…Thank you for letting us know all these important moments of your life… I really enjoy them…It makes me feel as you are closing the huge distance between us….Have a great Mothers Day… God bless you always…..Love you, Nana

Leave a Reply

