The Sixteenth Day of Christmas

So as I mentioned in a previous post, one of my friends from Southern California came to visit us. She HATES the cold, so I was pretty surprised she chose to come visit us now. But since she was going to put up with the freezing cold, she was looking forward to picturesque snow. Unfortunately, we haven’t had hardly any snow this year. It’s really depressing.

But it finally snowed today! It was only a dusting really, but you better believe we went outside to run around in it!

While we were outside, the husband was inside working. I decided to pick up the dog poop for him so he wouldn’t have to worry about. Anyone who has chipped frozen dog poop out of snow can truly appreciate this random act of kindness. It’s pretty much as awful as it sounds. That’s true love right there.

 

Eowyn, attempting to make a snow angel in our pathetic accumulation of snow

Eowyn, attempting to make a snow angel in our pathetic accumulation of snow

Love this girl!

Love this girl!

Our advent for the day:

wpid-wp-1421899590067.jpeg

We didn’t actually pick out the toys today because we ran out of time. But, we caught up on advent activities, so we actually did two other games. No stress; expectations exist only if we allow them to. The toys can be bought anther day and mean just as much.

Tyler and I reached a parenting milestone today: we hired a babysitter for the first time ever. Any time that we’ve gone somewhere without the kids, they were watched by friends or family. But tonight, no one was available to watch them. Our plans were too important to cancel–The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies was premiering at 7 pm! One of my father-in-law’s co-workers has a 15 year old daughter who babysits, and she was able to watch the older kids for us so that we could pretend we were in college again and geek out at the new LOTR addition. I know that I am truly getting old, because when I opened the door, I could have sworn that girl was 12. Did I seriously look that young when I was 15? The girls LOVED her, and Tyler, my friend and I had such a fantastic time at the movie. It was definitely worth it to step out of our comfort zone. I mean, you’ve gotta grow up sometime right?

Wait, does it still count as a grown up milestone if we did it in order to see The Hobbit? Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

